Saturday, 10 April 2010

2009 Nebula Award Nominations

The Nebula Awards® are annual awards presented by Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America to celebrate excellence in science fiction and fantasy writing.

SFWA also presents the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award for lifetime achievement, Andre Norton Award for best young adult SF and Fantasy, Bradbury Award for best dramatic presentation, Solstice Award for significance to the SF field, and honours senior writers as Authors Emeriti.

The 2009 Nebula Awards will be announced and presented at the 2010 Nebula Awards Weekend. This will be held on May 14-16 at Cape Canaveral, Florida. If you would like to go, there is more information on the Nebula Awards website.


Novels must be fiction, 40,000 words or more and published between July 2008 and December 31, 2009.
The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi
The Love We Share Without Knowing, Christopher Barzak
Flesh and Fire, Laura Anne Gilman
The City & The City, China Miéville
Boneshaker, Cherie Priest
Finch, Jeff VanderMeer


Novellas must be fiction, at least 17,500 words but less than 40,000 words and published between July 2008 and December 31, 2009.
The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, Kage Baker
Arkfall, Carolyn Ives Gilman
Act One, Nancy Kress
Shambling Towards Hiroshima, James Morrow
Sublimation Angels, Jason Sanford
The God Engines, John Scalzi


Novelettes must be fiction, at least 7,500 words but less than 17,500 words and published between July 2008 and December 31, 2009.
The Gambler, Paolo Bacigalupi
Vinegar Peace, or the Wrong-Way Used-Adult Orphanage, Michael Bishop
I Needs Must Part, The Policeman Said, Richard Bowes
Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast, Eugie Foster
Divining Light, Ted Kosmatka
A Memory of Wind, Rachel Swirsky

Short Story

Short Storys must be fiction, less that 7,500 words and published between July 2008 and December 31, 2009.
Hooves and the Hovel of Abdel Jameela, Saladin Ahmed
I Remember the Future, Michael A. Burstein
Non-Zero Probabilities, N. K. Jemisin
Spar, Kij Johnson
Going Deep, James Patrick Kelly
Bridesicle, Will McIntosh

Bradbury Award - Best Dramatic Production

In tandem with the Nebula Awards, SFWA presents an annual Ray Bradbury Award for Best Dramatic Presentation. This award is not a Nebula, but follows all Nebula rules and procedures. Eligible works for this award shall be dramatic works such as motion pictures, television, Internet, radio, audio, and stage productions released in 2009. The award will be given to the principal director and writer(s) of the production.
Star Trek, JJ Abrams
District 9, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell
Avatar, James Cameron
Moon, Duncan Jones and Nathan Parker
Up, Bob Peterson and Pete Docter
Coraline, Henry Selick

Andre Norton Award

The Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book, established in 2006, is awarded in tandem with the Nebula Awards. This award is not a Nebula, but follows all Nebula rules and procedures except as follows:
Any book in its first appearance in the English language published as a young adult science fiction or fantasy (or related genre) novel during the calendar year is eligible, including graphic novels. Nothing precludes a work’s being eligible for both a Nebula Award and an Andre Norton Award. There is no word limit. Any questions of eligibility shall be decided the Norton Jury.
Hotel Under the Sand, Kage Baker
Ice, Sarah Beth Durst
Ash, by Malinda Lo
Eyes Like Stars, Lisa Mantchev
Zoe’s Tale, John Scalzi
When You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland In A Ship Of Her Own Making, Catherynne M. Valente
Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld


For more information see
The Nebula Awards
Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America


Peter Debney said...

It is a strange thing about the Hugos and Nebulas: they are for books published in 2009 and awarded in 2010, but the Nebula is the 2009 while the Hugo is the 2010. It all makes sense really...

Peter Debney said...

The Nebula awards are anounced: